Sign In

IB Middle Years Program

Middle Years Programme (MYP – Grades 6-9) The middle years programme provides a framework of academic challenge and life skills for students aged 11-16 (grades 6-10). This five year program begins in grade 6 and culminates in grade 10 in High School. At Holy Cross we offer a four year program beginning in grade 6 and ending in grade 9. Our students can complete the 5th year of the Middle Years Programme at Archbishop MacDonald, St Joseph's High School or other High Schools within Edmonton Catholic Schools. 

The Middle Years Programme provides a framework of learning which encourages students to become creative, critical and reflective thinkers. The MYP emphasizes intellectual challenge, encouraging students to make connections between their studies in traditional subjects and to the real world. It fosters the development of skills for communication, intercultural understanding and global engagement, qualities that are essential for life in the 21st century. The MYP culminates with in year 4 with a community project and in year 5 with a personal project.


Middle Years Program Video 


Global Contexts

In the MYP, there are six learning contexts which encourage international-mindedness and global engagement in the programme.  These six global contexts have been conceptualized by the human universal experiences shared by all cultures on the planet.  They are identities and relationships; orientation in space and time; personal and cultural expression; scientific and technical innovation; globalization and sustainability; fairness and development. These pervade and recur throughout the five years of the MYP, through the eight subject groups, but also through interdisciplinary teaching and projects, whole school learning experiences and the MYP personal project. The global contexts are not directly assessed nor awarded individual grades, since they are perspectives from which the subjects are studied rather than subjects.

Academic Disciplines: The Subject Groups The Middle Years Program emphasizes achievement in eight subject areas:

  • Language and Literature (English Language Arts)
  • Language Acquisition (French Language Arts)
  • Mathematics
  • Individuals and Societies (Social Studies)
  • Sciences
  • Physical and Health Education
  • Design (Career and Technology Foundations) 
  • Arts

The emphasis is on a conceptual framework with objectives that are oriented towards skills and the learning process.